Old Photographs Located

Here’s an old group photograph of me (centre), Bill Farnham (left) (Bill was the branch engineer at that time) and Rex Truscott (right) with the rest of the workshop and office staff of Bewac (British {Engineering} West Africa Corporation) in Kaduna (Northern Nigeria), taken in Oct 1972. The occasion was my temporary take over of the management of the branch whilst Rex went on his three month’s home leave to the UK. Bill Farnham features in my memoir: The Up-Country Man. His real name was Bill Freeman, a good friend and mentor to me throughout my tours of duty in Nigeria.

Here’s another group photograph of me (centre) at Bewac in Jos (Northern Nigeria) circa 1970 on the occasion of me taking over the management of the branch from Terry Mason (right). There was no European engineer at Jos, the manager did both jobs!

Leave a comment